The pseudo arrival of fall

I like apples.

A lot.

Certain friends would call this an understatement. I used to average about three a day during high stress seasons and usually had a few in my purse or backpack to share with others.   What can I say? I told you I liked apples.

For the past four months, I’ve settled for the only variety of apples available in Korea- a large pink globe of crunchy water. It’s been a tough adjustment, one that’s left me trying to figure out ways for Mary to smuggle some good ol’ Granny Smiths through customs in September. For the record, she’s refused.

Lucky for her, I can retire from campaigning. I returned home from Bali to a mound of green apples gloriously displayed front and center in the produce section at my local grocer.  Words cannot describe  my excitement or the ecstasy of my fellow foreigners. The topic has dominated our conversations, text messages, and Facebook statuses. It was only natural that we allowed our minds to wander to the topic of apple pies.

Yesterday, Natalie, Lauren, Emily, and I gathered together for an afternoon of wine and pie making as we attempted to make an apple pie from scratch using a toaster oven.


The finished product.

Natalie and the toaster oven

The verdict?

맛있 었어

It was delicious.

August 15, 2010. Tags: , , . food, korea.

One Comment

  1. jomom replied:

    it’s lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

