Adventures in the Grocery Store, Installment One: Green Tea Ice Cream

New year, new resolutions. I reigned in 2010 with a lofty goal: to make it a habit to order what appears to be the most disgusting thing on the menu. Consider it the developing optimist in me but I’m truly motivated by the amusing idea that weird ingredients will somehow combine to create the most incredible meals I’ve ever had. Unfortunately, I’ve yet to have this experience.

Because I usually have no idea what I’m eating during a Korean meal, I’ve extended this challenge to the grocery store. As a true O’Neil, I enjoy ice cream any time, any place. I’ve also been known to down my fair share of tea. Imagine my surprise when I discovered two of my loves combined into one product: tea ice cream. The fact that it was one of the few commodities with an English title also helped.

The item came neatly packaged in a container of Styrofoam that safely prevented my ice cream from melting at the expense of the environment. Upon arrival at my humble abode, I eagerly prepared to sample my new acquisition by following a fifth grader’s mantra of “dessert first.” It probably would have helped if I had a high affinity for green tea or food dyed the color of pea soup. Sadly, I lack both. I think it’s safe to say that this product is an acquired taste, a taste that I will still be acquiring for many months to come. If anyone’s interested in its flavor, come on over. It’ll be waiting for you in the freezer.

April 19, 2010. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Steph replied:

    You are braver than me!!!

  2. Marie replied:

    I see myself in this post – I ordered coco con chili ice cream in Mexico (coconut w/ chiles) and wasn’t too pleased either 🙂 Yay for food adventures! ❤

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

